The Five Freedoms

Icon of a book

What are the “Five Freedoms?”

In the previous topic, we mentioned that the United Kingdom had developed a set of guidelines for basic and acceptable levels of care. Known as the “Five Freedoms” and recognized around the world, they include the following:

  1. Freedom from hunger and thirst by ready access to fresh water and a diet to maintain full health and vigour.
  2. Freedom from discomfort by providing an appropriate environment including shelter and a comfortable resting area.
  3. Freedom from pain, injury and disease by prevention or rapid diagnosis and treatment.
  4. Freedom to express normal behaviour by providing sufficient space, proper facilities and company of the animal’s own kind, if the animal is a social species.
  5. Freedom from fear and distress by ensuring conditions and treatment which avoid mental suffering.

Check out this infographic illustrating the Five Freedoms.

Click to open full-sized image.

Icon of a video playerThis short video from Scotland’s Rural College (SRUC) helps illustrate what we mean by the Five Freedoms.

Are you sure you want to log out?